The Little Leaf & Bean – Blackwood, SA

Shop 7/19 Coromandel Parade, Blackwood, SA, 5051

I am having a great week coffee wise.  The Little Leaf & Bean up at Blackwood (at least up for me – just look at a map, and you’ll see what I mean) is a gem, as far as coffee shops/cafés go. Nestled in a quiet group of shops, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Blackwood’s busy wannabe arterials (read: Coromandel Parade and Shepherds Hill Road – which at times are as busy as Springvale Road in Melbourne) this is a retreat – an escape – inclusive of a specially marked doorway into another world!  Only very new on the scene, The Little Leaf & Bean (become a fan if you are on Facebook) has a great feel to it, with a variety of indoor and outdoor seating  – including some specially built and very comfy couches.  There is a great menu for light meals, a vast selected of tea and coffee – and you can purchase it to go!  Next time you are up that way – as Molly would say – ‘Do yourself a favour!’,

Latte Quality – Lattastic! – this surpasses the one I had yesterday (see below) as the best coffee I have had in a while (just not that long a while) – so good, I would have ordered a second one but was due back down the hill for another meeting which included coffee – just no where near as good.  I ordered a large latte (see picture) which was a beautiful colour and included the first bit of latte-art I have come across in SA.  I am reliably informed that the manager/barista is an award winner!!

Cost – $3.50 for a regular; $3.90 for a large mug – so really good value.

Coffee SupplierLa Crema Coffee – South Australia’s own!

Fair Trade – Yes!  A big sign in the window – and upon asking, was informed that all coffee served is Fair Trade – so not only great tasting coffee, but also guilt free (just don’t think about calories – I meant ethically guilt free).

Venue Suitable for:

  • Quiet Chat – If you can get a table outside, most definitely.
  • Deep and Meaningful – again, Yes – see above – and if the place is a bit quieter – inside would work just as well.
  • Study and Reflection – I spent some time reading a book, in between meetings – and it is also an Internode Hotspot.
Posted on March 17, 2010, in Blackwood, Café, La Crema and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Simon,

    Thanks for the post and thanks for the invitation to have coffee with you. Sorry I was on leave and away i would have liked to have checked this one out.

    Being a minister at Blackwood with myoffice walking distance from here you would think I’d have found it by now but I hadn’t. I already have my frequent meeting places worked out and hadn’t bothered to open my eyes to little gems like this. I will check it out this week. Thanks for the tip

    Let’s do coffee again soon

    Mark

  2. You MUST check this one out – it is great!

    The next time you get a ‘great’ coffee from somewhere – feel free to make a few notes and do a review – I am looking for other reviewers in other locales….

  3. Super excited about this one. Will have to come up with an excuse to come to Blackwood soon. Mark?

Leave a Reply

