the pantry on egmont – Hawthorn, SA

2 Egmont Terrace, Hawthorn, SA, 5062

The Pantry On Egmont confirms what many of us coffee addicts have long suspected – that Adelaide has finally arrived on not just the national, but on the international coffee stage – because there are Baristas out there who are not just interested in their or their employers bottom line – but are passionate about the coffee they make, and want – above all else – for the coffee to be a joyful experience for the consumer – and Stef – from the Pantry is one of those guys!  (see also Daniel at Coffee By The Beans, The Coffee Barun and so I am lead to believe but have not yet tried – Espresso Royale @ Magill, and Taylor’s Blend @ Stonyfell)

Nestled comfortably between upper class old suburbia and the Belair railway line in the ever so leafy and green Hawthorn – the Pantry On Egmont – is a place that in truth, I really do not want to  review  – because it may mean that the secret becomes too common knowledge and it ruins my future experiences.  I just loved the place!  Comfortable – like sitting in your Nanna’s kitchen – complete with the old school kitchen tables and mis-matched chairs – The Pantry pulls off, what the Tango Turtle over reaches – trendy – arty – yet comfortable, welcoming and with top notch customer service.  Their food is also excellent – during my brief stay, I enjoyed (on the house) a biscuit made by the mother of one of the owners, the just prepared filling of the Rabbit Pot Pie which was the Chef’s special for Lunch with some hot turkish bread – which was do delicious, that I couldn’t help having the actual pie for Lunch (which I paid for – along with my three lattes and a ristretto) – ahh the joys of Ministry, peer to peer mentoring and student preacher mentoring at BCSA!!  Now to the review:

Latte Quality – Lattastic!! – I know I said I would never make this declaration without a few visits – but just as I mentioned in my review of Coffee By The Beans [click above] and in fairness to me (a) this is my blog, so it is my opinion we are going with; (b) I live in Goolwa, they are in Hawthorn – how often am I going to get the chance; (c) I did have a Ristretto and three lattes and (d) again, this is my blog.  Today we were drinking a Single Origin Honduras – which as a ristretto was super sweet with hints of melon and cinnamon, and as a latte was just gorgeous!!

Cost – $3.50 for a regular drink in, which is about average.

Coffee Supplier – De Groot Coffee Co Pty Ltd – Magill, SA

Fair Trade – Yes – but no promotion of it in store that I could see – I only found out because Stef had told my brother before I arrived, and it is also proudly stated on the single page of De Groot’s website.

Customer Service –   –  freaking awesome – I’m going to nominate them all for Australian of the Year – I would keep coming back, even if they switched to International Rust and an ern (not really, but you get the drift) – if it weren’t for their calling into the coffee industry, they should be teacher customer service… when I asked about the coffee and the hostess couldn’t answer my question, rather than just leaving it there as usually happens – she got Stef to come across and sit with us and we spoke passionately about coffee on a number of occasions – it is a brother by another mother.

Special Notes – They place a high value on organic local produce, including Tweedvale Milk – which just adds to their quality and the flavour of their food!!  Trust me!!

Venue Suitable for:

  • Quiet Chat,  Deep and Meaningful, and/or Study and Reflection – Absolutely – we were there between 11 and 1 – and while it was busy, it wasn’t noisily busy – it was friendly, casually busy – so if you did have your head down in a book it wouldn’t have been distracting – and we did have a few deep and meaningfuls and they were easy to have in this inviting atmosphere.
Posted on September 7, 2011, in Adelaide, Café, De Groot Coffee Co., Fairtrade, Hawthorn, Organic and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I can still taste the Ristretto!

    • I know – I’m kind of reluctant to have a coffee today and spoil yesterday – how good was it? But having written that, I am about due to walk home to make my first latte of the day

    • Why? [insert shocked face emicon – not sure how to do that in key strokes] – what did I do? How many lattes had you had by 10am? And remember, you can pop by and grab a latte from Stef – I have to pack a cut lunch and a thermos!!

  2. I have now finished my sermon so my feelings towards you have improved! 😉

  3. I frequent Caffe de carlo in Goolwa and myself and a number of others have enjoyed their food and coffee for some time now, i have tried other cafes around Goolwa,but still find myself going back there,love it.

  4. Thanks for your comments Shane – like you, I visit Caffe de carlo on occasion and have reviewed it here http://makecoffeenotwar.com/2011/07/21/caffe-de-carlo-goolwa-sa/

  5. hey mister rev, might want to update some details there about the pantry as stef is not there anymore and has not been for awhile. apreciate the awesome comment from you that you enjoy our coffee and would love to be introduced to you next time you pop in! 🙂 -nathan -the pantry

Leave a Reply

