Buying Coffee Beans Online…

[aka Whose Beans are your Beans]

I will lay my cards on the table – I am a ‘johnny come lately’ to the speciality coffee industry – only really becoming a coffee snob in the last 5 years – and it took until a call came from the coast, that I began to investigate purchasing coffee beans online.  I had purchased the occasional bag of beans from a café that served a really nice coffee – and I had purchased a few months supply of Rio Coffee whenever I was in the neighbourhood – but it was not until I discovered Coffeecraft on South Road (thanks to the major delays caused by the Tram overpass), sampled their wares instore, had an afternoons barista training on my own machine and then discovered their policy of free postage and next day delivery that I began to purchase beans online.

My first few purchases were great – and I ordered for safety, going with what I knew and liked – and then I purchased a coffee from The Greenroom on High Street – and asked the lady about the lovely coffee and in an almost evangelical fervour, she told me about the Coffeeworks in Queensland who supplied their Black Mountain blend – and then I began to get adventurous – bought that one, and many others from their range.  I have since ordered coffee a number of times from a number of places – with a few hits and misses – and have ordered beans from cafes with a known quality product – i.e. The Coffee Barun (loved the Ethiopian Sidamo Guji – not so much the Latte Blend – but struggled with the customer service).

Recently, one of my parishioners – in celebration of the birth of my second Son – gave him a onesey and me a bag of Mahalia Blend No.1 which has been divine to drink, but I have been reluctant to buy from them due to the high postage costs – and I have also noticed that Rio Coffee have opened their online shop.

In preparation for this quick reflection and post, I did a perfunctory Google Search on “buying coffee beans online” which returned 4.74 Million results in 0.23 seconds, with only one in the top ten I had heard of before.  The Australian results included:

  1. The Coffee Company
  2. Coffee Hit (I have heard of this one – they were rude to me when I asked about Fairtrade Coffee)
  3. Where Is My Coffee? – which is the self proclaimed “Australia’s Premier Coffee Portal.”
  4. Gigante Coffee
  5. The Coffee Bean Roasting House
  6. Coffee Beans Shop
  7. Coffee Lovers
  8. Bay Beans Caffeinated Aromatherapy (love the name)

My next purchase is going a sample pack from my home region – Barossa Coffee Roasters.

So…where and how do you get your beans?

Posted on September 21, 2011, in Coffee Beans Online, Coffee Cart, Mahalia, Rio, Roasting, Website and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi there !

    At the moment am enjoying Decaf Columbian beans from ‘coffee for beans’. 🙂

  2. I am sorry to hear about your bad experience with a online coffee shop. Its great to see that you mentioned http://www.baybeans.com.au and we are very proud of the tag line “caffeinated aromatherapy’ 😉

    You dont need to be put of by the cost of delivery if you do want to buy some coffee from me, I offer free delivery anywhere in Australia. Get in touch and I will send you a sample pack and try it for yourself. -James.

Leave a Reply

