Aldgate Café – Aldgate, SA

6 Strathalbyn Road, Aldgate, SA, 5154

Not wanting to pass up a lovely day out and about, I also ventured down the road to grab another coffee – from what, at first glance on our drive up to Aldgate – was the busiest of the local cafes.  When I got there, I was the only other patron bar one – but had to wait 10 minutes for service.  If I had been smart I would have paid more attention before walking in, as despite its name being the “Aldgate Cafe” it is more a Pizzeria who has a coffee machine, than a café that also serves pizza.

The walls are lined with an eclectic mix of local art – there are plenty of tables and chairs, and I believe there is also an alfresco bit out the back.  But I came for the coffee, and so to the review.

Latte Quality – Passable – lots of foam, with an interesting first flavour – I think of melons….???  but a really unpleasant after taste, which left me needing another milk back beverage.

Cost – $3.50 for a regular size latte.

Coffee SupplierLavazza

Fair Trade – Nope

Customer Service  – acknowledged my presence and value as a carbon based entity – but not much more;

Venue Suitable for:

  • Quiet Chat,  Deep and Meaningful, and/or Study and Reflection – No, not really.
Posted on October 10, 2011, in Aldgate, Café, Lavazza and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

