Boulevard Café on the Lake – Encounter Bay, SA

41 Bartel Boulevard, Victor Harbor, SA, 5211

The unfortunate event of my wife and boys having a car accident (they are all Ok – Thank God!) turned into the fortunate event of me being able to relax lakeside, sip a latte and read a book doing sermon preparation, while waiting for them to pick me up (the crash repair place is within easy walking distance – not sure if this is a positive or a negative aspect in relation to the café itself – or whether I should include this stat as part of all future reviews…?? Let me know).

I have known about this place for quite a while, having driven past it on the way to other coffee places, church camps or just going to sit by the beach at Encounter Bay – and I can not really offer an excuse as to why I had never stopped before.  Even at the most recent CoC State Camp held down the road, people were commenting on their nice coffee – and yet I still never went.  But I am glad to say that I have rectified the situation.

While the Café itself is hardly “on the Lake” I assume they chose that name because the “Boulevard Cafe from which you can see the lake through some trees beyond the lawned area” doesn’t have the same ambience {see picture below} – but what it lacks in proximity to the man made fresh water lake, it more than makes up for in style and customer service.  Offering a full service menu from Breakfast through Dinner, the food comes highly recommended – and there is plenty of seating both inside and out.  Off street parking is available – which is a plus – and with a southerly wind blowing you can sometimes catch a whiff of the ocean.

If you are attending the Salvation Army ‘Encounters Conference Centre‘ then this place is across the road and away from the beach a bit….so to the review.

Latte Quality – Good – which surprised me, because I am not normally a fan of Aroma Fresh Coffee – It was served a touch too hot, but once it had cooled slightly I detected a ‘malt’ flavour  which interested me.

Cost – $3.40 for a regular – which is pretty much on the money – or just below average.

Coffee Supplier – Adelaide’s own Aroma Fresh

Fairtrade – Nope – no mention in the Café, although Aroma Fresh do 3 Bean Fairtrade Blend – which they recommend you drink after a T-Bone Steak….

Customer Service –   – memorable – you talk about this place – this is how everyone should be, but few are – the lady complimented me on my T-Shirt [my MakeCoffeeNotWar T-Shirt] and asked me where she could get one for herself and one for her boss.

Venue Suitable for:

  • Quiet Chat,  Deep and Meaningful, and/or Study and Reflection – Probably all of these things, as there is plenty of indoor and outdoor seating – and while I was there just after 9am on a Wednesday, the place was busy – but not distractingly so.  Victor Harbor has a large population of retirees and the are not known to be a noisy bunch in Cafes….
Posted on October 20, 2011, in Aroma Fresh, Café, Encounter Bay, Victor Harbor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

