a mother’s milk – Unley, SA

105 Unley Road, Unley, SA, 5061

I have waited so long for this place to open – I even made an aborted attempt a few weeks back only to discover I had chosen the only day in seven that they are closed (Tuesday) – and today, with my friend and colleague David in tow – the threshold of a mother’s milk was crossed.  Now remembering that this place has only been opened now for about a month….The first thing you notice about this most recent addition to the Adelaide speciality coffee scene, is that it is warm and inviting – and that is not just a comment on how it appeared during the cold, wet and wintery final day of summer on which I first entered – because the aesthetic is trendy, yet comfortable – and then there is the customer service. We were greeted like long lost brothers – “Glad you could make it” was the greeting.  Now, while I have met the owner (Stef) on two occasions at his previous place of employ – the chances are that he wouldn’t know me if he tripped over me – but with such a simple, yet sincere greeting (rather than a person behind the counter looking up from their facebooking, inwardly groaning and then plastering on a fake smile) Dave and I were able to relax, shrug of the stresses of the morning and peruse the substantial menu before deciding just on some coffees (assuming that six constitutes ‘some’).  Like all the speciality coffee places across Adelaide, a mother’s milk had a number of coffee types on offer – and this was the first time – ever – I was asked which bean I’d like to try – and you’ll find out which if you read on. 

Ristretto Quality – Excellent – using the Indo Mandheling Lake Tawar single origin, the ristretto was dark and rich in colour, just speckly – with deep dark chocolate flavours at the start, with an acidic rhubarb and/or apricot finish.  Stef mentioned that this was a characteristic of how this one had aged – when it first arrived the chocolate flavour was no where to be seen….

Latte Quality – Lattastic – but then I would have expected nothing less from a place run by Stef – he had Daniel behind the machine today (I hope I got the name right) and his work was excellent.  Using a Colombian La Chaparrala single origin, the latte came with a robust caramel beginning with a roasted cashew kind of finish.  David had a cappuccino, and his remark was that it was ‘everything a milk coffee should be’ – which is pretty high praise indeed.  To make sure it wasn’t a fluke – we ordered the same again, however this time the milk coffees came with the Indo – and the flavours changed – both of us agreed that as a ristretto we preferred the Indo, but for the milk drink go with the Colombian!!  

Cost – $3.30 Latte (all milk based coffee), $3.00 Ristretto

Coffee Supplier – The Coffee Barun

Fair Trade – No mention that I could see in store – but the Barun do sell some Fairtrade and Rainforest Alliance coffee.

Customer Service – –  freaking awesome – I’m going to nominate them for Australian of the Year – I would keep coming back, even if they switched to International Rust and an ern (not really, but you get the drift) – if it weren’t for their calling into the coffee industry, they should be teaching customer service….Greeted by the owner, and asked by the two other guys if we were being served in the first few minutes (and the place was full – we had taken the last table) – they came to the table to take our order (no having to line up – which is a blessing in itself) – once our ristrettos were down, out came the Darwin Stubbie filled with filtered water and a couple of glasses – and every time Stef came past he asked how our coffees were and chatted about the sensations when possible.  On our third round I went up to the counter where Daniel was making a take-away for another customer – and he managed to keep steaming the milk, while taking my order and ensure that I felt I had been heard and that my order was welcome – Kudos to Stef and his team for an excellent experience of dedication and passion to coffee and customer service!!

Venue Suitable for:

  • Quiet Chat,  Deep and Meaningful, and/or Study and Reflection – It probably depends on how popular this place gets. Were arrived at around 1pm and the place was full.  The tables are far enough apart so that you can carry on a personal conversation, and the background music is of a level where you can enjoy it, again without it over powering your deep and meaningfuls.
Posted on February 29, 2012, in Café, Coffee Barun, Espresso Bar, Speciality Coffee Bar, Unley and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Any place that is capable of making a ristretto will have my attention and this cafe is one of those. Good to see another good cafe opening in Adelaide, hope they can keep up the good coffee.

  2. The photo of the latte looks like one made by Steph, and not Junko? Is that right?

    • Partly correct Bobby – the latte was not made by Junko – it was made by Daniel (I think that was his name) who was begin the machine for the entire three hours I was there.

      I’m looking forward to your top 10 list is a few weeks, although it will be odd not having a coffee review to read every Sunday night. Are you considering going for another 52 weeks? Have you considered putting your reviews on Beanhunter? (That would get the Adelaide cafe scene above Canberra…)

      • What I probably should of said was that the latte wasnt made by Junko, but by someone else. Didnt realize they had another barista there. (besides Steph) I havent had a good look at bean hunter so not exactly sure how it works besides posting comments, but perhaps I may have a closer squiz in a few weeks, thanks for suggestion.

        I’ll be having a break post coffee journey. The freedom will be good. I have no plans yet as to what I will do next. Cheers for your nice comments.

Leave a Reply

